fridays are fucking fabulous

8 Jan

because it’s the first week into the new year and the first year in my 30s. i’m officially in my 30s.  a couple of weeks ago i was driving around town with a friend looking at christmas lights when quite unexpectedly, i freaked the fuck out.  pretty sure i scared him a little, but let’s be honest, i have been known to bust out in fits of tears now and again.  sometimes time comes crushing down on me and for the past few months i have had this weight on my shoulders.  how quickly it slips by and i have just barely, literally within weeks, figured out pieces about myself that seem very important.  so here we are in the car driving around homes with fancy christmas lights and no doubt high electricity bills when i blurt out how uncomfortable i am with my upcoming birthday. it’s like i am having a delayed adolescence and it’s scary to be the one that is late in the game. but then my birthday came and went and i’m happy to report i am o.k. i stumbled upon this lovely quote:

One of the signs of passing youth is the birth of a sense of fellowship with other human beings as we take our place among them– Virginia Woolf

and isn’t that so true?  i’ve always enjoyed getting older, learning more, loving more and finding my place and now more then ever i can embrace my place in time. in my 30s.

besides i share my sign with a lot of other great capicorns!  Patti Smith, Tracy Ullman, Simone de Beauvoir, Joan Baez, Joan of Arc, Ethel Merman and my very favorite- Dolly Parton.

Leave a Reply

